Allergy Alert - Undeclared Almond and Peanut in Schar Brand Snack-Gluten Free Chocolate Wafers with Hazelnuts

|
almonds OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - Nov. 30, 2006) - The public warning issued on November 24, 2006 has been updated to include additional allergen risk and product information. The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) is warning people with allergies to almond protein or peanut protein not to consume the Schar brand Snack - gluten free chocolate wafers with hazelnuts. The affected product may contain almond and peanut proteins which are not declared on the label.

All Best before dates and lot codes of this product described below are affected by this alert.

The Schar brand Snack - gluten free chocolate wafers with hazelnuts, a product of Italy, is sold in a 105 g package bearing UPC 8 008698 005286 on the back panel. On some packages, the UPC on the back panel may be covered up with a sticker. These packages have a white sticker on the front panel which bears a different UPC 8 00869 80528 6. Both the UPC are affected. The package contains three individually wrapped 35 g Snack bars.

This product has been distributed nationally.

There have been no reported illnesses associated with the consumption of this product.

Consumption of this product may cause a serious or life-threatening reaction in persons with allergies to almond protein or peanut protein.

The importer is voluntarily recalling the affected product from the marketplace. The CFIA is monitoring the effectiveness of the recall.

For more information, consumers and industry can call the CFIA at 1-800-442-2342 / TTY 1-800-465-7735 (8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Eastern time, Monday to Friday).

source CCNMathews